ChatGPT vs Gemini: Free Image Generation, What Each Page Confirms (2026)
ChatGPT's official pricing page lists limited free image creation and opt-out model training. Gemini's free terms could not be confirmed on an official page in this review.
Verdict: Start with ChatGPT if you want a free tier whose terms you can read on the vendor’s own pricing page. Its Free plan includes limited image creation and an opt-out from model training. Gemini is not ranked here, because this review could not confirm its free image terms on an official page. Test Gemini directly before you choose it for free work.
The short answer
ChatGPT’s free image terms are clear on its pricing page: limited creation, no published count, and a training opt-out. Gemini’s terms are the open question, and this article does not fill the gap with third-party claims, because those are not sources this site can cite for the figures.
What ChatGPT’s pricing page records
ChatGPT’s pricing page lists the Free plan as available to everyone, with limited image creation. Image generation also appears as a feature on the Plus plan, and the Pro plan lists unlimited and faster image creation. The page includes a feature table, and on the Free column it marks image generation as limited rather than giving a count.
The same page shows that content on the Free plan is used to train the company’s models, with an opt-out available. That is the privacy term that matters most for a free image tool, because it decides what happens to what you upload or generate.
What the page leaves out
The pricing page does not state how many images the Free plan allows, how long a limit lasts, or whether a free image carries a watermark. Those points are not in the official record used for this article, so they are not stated here. Test the limit yourself in the product.
Decision criteria
1. Image limits. The Free plan’s image creation is limited, and the page gives no count. Test the number of images you can make in one session before you rely on the plan.
2. Training and privacy. Free content can be used to train models, and an opt-out is available. Check the setting before generating anything you want kept private.
3. Upgrade path. Plus lists image generation, and Pro lists unlimited and faster creation. If your free limit is too small, the official page shows where the upgrade starts; this article does not state plan prices.
4. Gemini. This review did not confirm Gemini’s free image availability, watermark, or training terms from a Google page. Do not treat any Gemini-free claim as confirmed until you check Google’s own page.
Who ChatGPT’s free tier suits
- A person testing image prompts who needs a free start and accepts limits.
- A user who will opt out of training and does not need to keep generated images private.
- Someone who wants a clear upgrade route on the same vendor page.
Who should look at other options first
- Users who need a guaranteed number of free images, since the page gives no count.
- Teams that need commercial use terms, which this article does not state for either product.
- Anyone who needs Gemini specifically, until its free terms are checked on Google’s page.
Trade-offs
ChatGPT’s free plan is the one with an official record in this comparison, and the record includes a training opt-out. The cost is limited creation with no published count. Gemini’s record is missing here, which is a gap in the comparison, not a judgment on the product.
Before you choose: a checklist
- Open ChatGPT’s pricing page and read the Free column for image creation.
- Find the training opt-out in your account settings and turn it on if your images are private.
- Generate a small batch of images and record how many you can make before the limit appears.
- Check Gemini’s free terms on Google’s own page before comparing.
- Confirm commercial use terms on the plan you use before publishing an image.
Where this comparison stops
This article does not rank image quality, speed, or prompt accuracy. It does not confirm Gemini’s free terms, and it does not state any watermark or commercial licence rule for either product. Vendor plans change, so treat the figures as a snapshot from the pages read on 2026-10-14.
Context
The ranking carries both products, and its rows link to the other free-tier pairs.
FAQ
Is ChatGPT or Gemini better for free image generation?
This page can confirm ChatGPT's free terms from OpenAI's pricing page: image creation is limited on the Free plan, and free content can be used to train models unless you opt out. It cannot confirm Gemini's free image terms from an official page, so it does not rank the two on free quota.
Does ChatGPT's free plan include image creation?
Yes, with limits. The pricing page lists limited image creation on the Free plan, and image generation as a paid feature on Plus, with unlimited and faster creation on Pro. The page does not state a number of images for the Free plan.
Can I stop ChatGPT from training on my free images?
The pricing page says content on the Free plan is used to train models and that an opt-out is available. Find the opt-out setting in your account and check it before you generate anything you want kept private.